Before and After School Care

About the program

Parents can have peace of mind knowing that their children are in a safe and supervised environment before or after the regular school day. The Y’s before and after school program offers:

  • Academic support through daily help with homework
  • Enrichment activities in science, technology, engineering, art and math (STEAM)
  • Healthy snacks that meet USDA nutrition guidelines and align with YMCA Health Eating and Physical Activity standards
  • Indoor and outdoor play, including 30 minutes of fun physical activity each day
  • Social and Emotional Learning/Mindfulness - Lessons that teach problem solving, embrace diversity and build healthy relationships that will last well into adulthood
  • Achievement program that fosters work readiness, entrepreneurship and financial literacy skills and uses experiential learning to inspire students to dream big and reach their potential
  • Regular specialists and special events to enhance the daily program
  • Opportunities for volunteering and community service projects
  • Continued care when schools are closed through our Vacation Camp*

Contact Us

Guide to School Age Child Care

[+] Show All

East Orange YMCA

  • Address: 100 North Arlington Ave., East Orange, NJ
  • Contact: Kim Winslow, School Age Child Care director, 973-673-5588, x103, or kwinslow@metroymcas.org, or Leah Greene, senior School Age Child Care director, 973-762-1083, x12 or lgreene@metroymcas.org

Greater Bergen County YMCA

  • Address: 360 Main St., Hackensack, NJ
  • Contact: Martin Richards, School Age Child Care director, 201-487-6600 x220 or mrichards@metroymcas.org

South Mountain YMCA

  • Address: 13 Jefferson Ave., Maplewood, NJ
  • Contact: Leah Greene, senior director, School Age Child Care 973- 762-0183 ext. 12 or legreene@metroymcas.org

Sussex County YMCA

  • Address: 15 Wits End Rd., Hardyston, NJ
  • Contact: Laura Gloss, Youth and Family Engagement director, 973-209-9622, ext. 209 or lgloss@metroymcas.org

Wayne YMCA

  • Address: 1 Pike Dr., Wayne, NJ
  • Contact: Lisa Sheafer, Youth and Family Engagement director, 973-595-0100, ext. 279 or lsheafer@metroymcas.org

West Essex YMCA

  • Address: 321 S. Livingston Ave., Livingston, NJ
  • Contact: Ava Collazo, School Age Child Care assistant director, 973-992-7500, ext. 103 or acollazo@metroymcas.org

[+] Show All